E is for Elections!

And Parliamentary elections began across the country this morning. For numerous news stories and reports on the elections in Egypt, go here.

In my little neighborhood, there were campaign stickers galore!

 

My neighbor's taxi

 

The sticker I removed from my electric box.

 

On the wall of a nearby apartment building

A young Bedouin boy trying to pass on this poster to me...I settled for a photo.

And many other young people were enthused with the campaign stickers and placed them around the neighborhood, sometimes without permission – I removed two posters stuck to my car!

If you take a closer look at the posters, you’ll notice each candidate is represented by a symbol – the cresent, a teacup and saucer, a telephone. While we’re not 100% sure of the purpose behind these, we assume one reason is to assist illiterate voters.

* By posting these photos, I am in no way showing my support of any specific candidate.

