J is for Jujubes

Jujubes are literally bursting from our trees here in Dahab at the moment! These pictured here are the fruit – in varying stages of dryness – of the Ziziphus spina-christi tree which makes them Christ-thorn Jujubes as opposed to Common Jujubes. Although I never refer to them by their English name, but rather ‘nabq’ (نَبق) or ‘sidr’ (سٍدر). Whatever you call them, they make a delicious and free snack! My young Bedouin neighbors and I collect kilos of these every few days from trees in the city (near the playground!). I like them fresh from the tree, but also dried. I’ve not seen them for sale here in Dahab, but we did purchase some from a green grocer in Cairo years ago. You can also purchase bags on the dried jujubes from shops in the town of St. Katherine’s.

