S is for Small Spiders

Pepper Spider (1)

This small lynx spider was spotted on the leaves of the pepper plant growing in my desert garden. Spiders used to freak me out, but as I started to observe their interactions with the other plants and animals in my garden I began to be more fascinated than frightened by these eight-legged critters. Most of the species I encounter are small, less than 1 cm in length, and often only spotted when I am out enjoying my garden and slowly looking over all our plants, checking progress. It’s then that I’ll notice a flash of different color or a quick jumping movement that alerts me to our resident spiders. Besides lynx spiders, I’ve spotted different crab spiders, spitting spiders, and jumping spiders. What types of spiders do you notice in the nature around you?

 

