A is for Aloe

Aloe Page

 

A few years ago, a friend gave me some young aloe vera plants. Today, they would take over my garden if I let them! I have used the leaves to cool burns and sunburns, and since I have an abundance of these lovely plants, I recently researched aloe vera a bit more and was surprised by what I learned from one website:

The earliest record of Aloe vera use comes from the Egyptians.  There are records of the Egyptians drawing pictures of Aloe vera plants on the walls of the temples. Many cultures such as the Egyptians would have even elevated the plant to a ‘god-like’ status. The healing properties of the Aloe vera were utilized for centuries earning the name “Plant of Immortality”. One of the common myths about the Aloes was that the two Egyptian queens, Nefertiti and Cleopatra used Aloe vera as part of their beauty treatments…The Egyptians used the Aloe vera to make papyrus like scrolls as well as for treatment of tuberculosis. In ancient Egypt when a Pharaoh died, the funeral ceremony was by invitation only with a price tag included:  a pound of Aloes.  Egyptians used the odorous mixture of Aloe and myrrh for embalming and also placed it with the burial clothes.  A man’s wealth and esteem for the king were estimated by the number of pounds of Aloes he brought.

Aloe vera now grows in many places around the world and is a popular decorative garden plant in modern Egypt. I have been using the natural aloe vera gel as a facial cleanser and moisturizer. How do you use aloe vera?

